Kick Start…

Webster defines a catalyst as an agent that provokes or speeds significant change or action. In layman’s terms, a kick start. When it comes to fitness, everyone wants the end product but very few really know the work involved to achieve it. I find it almost amazing the amount of people that want that perfect butt or those washboard abs but are deterred when a regimen or diet is presented. I find it even more interesting the amount of people that will begin but not finish. With that being said, I encourage you to find your catalyst; the kick to get you going.

Finding that kick may not come as easily to some as it may to others but finding it is a detrimental portion of starting your own Chaos Theory. Some of us may be afraid of giving up the “life” they used to live or some do not want to eat “healthy” food because it tastes nasty. I am not even going to lie, throughout high school and up until my sophomore year in college, I could care less about working out or being healthy for that matter. I knew I wanted to live a better lifestyle but the fear of sore muscles, bland food, and fitting it all into my day really got the best of me. When starting something for the first time or even giving something another go around, it is important to allow your faith to outweigh your fear. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Faith is the first step. Even when you do not see the whole staircase.” You do not have to see the end picture so clearly when you first start, you just have to have that kick to get you going.

I do not have a super sappy story for what pushed me to live a more healthy lifestyle. Somewhere along the road, I just knew I wanted to live longer and feel better. I think when I realized an hour in the gym is only 4% of your entire day and what you put into your body is what your body gives, I really had no room for excuses to not be living and doing better. From that moment on, I have been on a journey for healthier living.

I will end with this: “Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.” Living a healthy lifestyle is definitely a good thing, but living it with a purpose is that much better. Whatever kicks you, let it. Finding and keeping that motivating factor is key to beginning anything new. For those already living healthy lifestyles, what kicked you? What advice can you offer readers to help kick start their Chaos Theory?

This entry was posted in The Chaos Theory and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

