Boundaries

America, we have to draw lines somewhere. We have allowed the pursuit of happiness thing to go too far. This morning, I read a story on CNN.com about a first grade student who was born as a boy and now has made the decision he wants to live as a girl and therefore wants to use the girl’s room. I am not a fan of this trend. I will admit I am not a supporter of gay rights but I also am a sinner myself and, that being the basis of my lack of support, I don’t believe I have the right to judge unless I am flawless. However, I do believe that it is a parent’s responsibility to teach a child right from wrong. According to the parents, this young person was showing signs of depression at 18 months b/c he didn’t identify with being a boy. To me, that is a crock of nonsense. 18 months? Come on. Guess what. When I was 5, my sister liked having tea parties (a stereotypical girl thing to do). I joined her b/c she was my best friend. And if you know me now, you know I love women. When I was in 7th grade, I grabbed 2 girls butts after being dared. Today, I will be one of the first people to tell a young man to keep his hands to himself when it comes to respecting a lady. I use those two examples to say this: as a child and even as an adolescent, my actions and attitude did not dictate who I am as an adult. But that is because there were boundaries drawn. What happens if there are no boundaries? What if your parents support the wrong decisions you make? I’m not saying Coy, the boy from the CNN article, isn’t gay. What I’m saying is, what if he wouldn’t have been had he not had parents who decided at 18 months that he has the right to choose?

Another issue I have is that, by allowing Coy to use the girl’s room the school, and ultimately the government, is sanctioning this behavior. What if I, as a parent, don’t want my children exposed to this school of thought at such a young age? What if I don’t want my 6 year old daughter in the bathroom with a young male who could decide one day that he was just confused? The government should not be able to dictate what values my children should and should not embrace. We are given perceived freedom but that, my fellow subjects, is not freedom at all.

–D3

This entry was posted in An Honest Inventory and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Boundaries

  1. Kira says:

    Your not the first to throw your opinion into the conversation regarding Trans issues in general or Trans children in particular, nor will you be the last. However, you are like so many before you and those who will follow, choosing to speak on a subject about which you know nothing other then what someone else has told you. Please do yourself and everyone else the favor of educating yourself on Trans issues. There are a number of resources to be found by simply Googling “Transgender.”

    • dadanielsjr says:

      Kira,
      I definitely appreciate the comment. To clarify, I am not bashing persons who are transgender. Instead I am 1) addressing the fact that at that age, if we don’t allow a child to make any other major decisions for himself, we shouldn’t make an exception in this instance; and 2) saying that, when I have children, they should not be forced to adopt popular culture’s values if I am actively teaching them values that I see fit for them to uphold. LGBT, straight, or whatever other variations there are out there, we are all human beings. But maturity plays a major role in what an individual can or cannot decide for himself and, until that level of maturity has been reached, parents are there to make those decisions.
      – D3

      • Kira says:

        D3,

        Let me ask you this, if the same child was assigned male at birth, wore male clothing, played with male toys and told you without hesitation he was a”boy”, would you refuse to accept such an assertion or would think nothing of it?

        Would you tell him he cannot understand if he is really a boy or not? Would you berate his parents for just following some trend?

        Or more likely, would you praise him for being so smart and knowing he is indeed a boy and never think to doubt he could understand such a thing even at such a young age?

        Interesting how our views on what a child can and cannot understand changes depending on weather or not their understanding meets our expectations.

  2. bdavis13 says:

    Hmm. I think more than it just being a “trans issue”, it’s an issue of allowing a child the authority to make a decision about what sex they are. And I think something should be said about that. Where are we to stop? I was reading another blog on this issue and someone raised a good point. What if that same child had no issues with their sexual orientation came to his parent’s and said he wanted to be Black or Asian or whatever other race than what he was? Would those same parents be so willing to accept how that child feels, changing their whole way of life so that child could feel more comfortable or would those parents promote loving their heritage and who they are? Something to think about. I think we live in a society nowadays where when it has anything to do with sexual orientation or sexual preference we have to walk on eggshells as to not hurt anyone because we are so concerned with inclusion and acceptance of anyone’s preferences even when those ideas come from a 6 year old. I think those parents are so afraid of that that they are failing as parents, and the courts are so afraid of that, that they are failing as a system. And that to me is sad…

Leave a Reply

